terewku.blogg.se

The Flaming Lips Soft Bulletin Full Album
the flaming lips soft bulletin full album














the flaming lips soft bulletin full album

The more I read about these guys the more I like them. They lead vocals on Race for the Prize sounds like Neil Young. See the seller's listing for full details.Anyway, I have heard of the Flaming Lips, but am not very familiar. The Flaming Lips - Soft Bulletin New CD.

This album has made me a fan though. That must be how I know them. Just brilliant! Do You Realize is a song I do know - but it's not on this album.

I never would have listened to this or gave it much of a thought. As this album goes, I like it more and more. I like the whole weirdness of it. Music, lyrics, experimental stuff all mixed up. There's so much happening with these songs.

the flaming lips soft bulletin full album

Vocals are very weak (like Neil Young on a very bad day) and the engineering is flawed by both excessive separation and the fact that the percussion sounds like it was recorded on one mic in gymnasium. There’s one interesting and progressive reflection (“The Spiderbite Song”) on how events in other people’s lives affect their relationships with us, but it lacks depth.And the lyrical weakness is not helped by the music. Not much to really grab on to. No soul, son.They display a certain fondness for non-referential paronomasia (meaningless puns) and the kind of logical puzzles that occupied the minds of the brighter students in middle school. Sprinkled with very occasional profundity, the lyrics are outside the mainstream, reflecting thoughtfully on topics that frequently don’t merit reflection.

Over the loudspeakers in an off-brand pharmacy.How about with the horrendous arrangements? Some of them started off innocently, like the slow opening credits of an old Disney film, but then a swarm of whining metal wasps enter to help arrange these disasters - er, sorry, REmasters. What is going on with the weird drum drops or whatever it is? I don’t know who would listen to this voluntarily.The Observer and The Gash are the only song I Liked™ off this album.Suddenly could’ve been great with a different singer, different melody and other lyrics.Brappappapp finds its bearings in the lofi 90s again, and I could possibly listen to it again. But it’s not exactly easy listening bossa nova for cruise ships.Spiderbite is another nursery rhyme, but with less impressive 90s beats. I like the instrumental actually.I kinda like how in Spark it changes tone several times. It has the same sort of self-indulgence as prog rock but without the fun.Opening track sounds like a teacher singing nursery rhymes to the class because his boss INSISTED upon it, and he simply couldn’t afford to lose his job because he needs his health insurance and rent prices are rising, with some neat 90s beats to go with it. Overusing synthetic strings, they seem to be attempting the ethereal, but end up with soggy cereal.MORTY! Why are you doing this? You had a bright future in interdimensional exploration! You could say this is experimental, or you could say it is unappealing to the (human) ear.

For example, listen to the line “They lifted up the SUUUUUNNNNNNNN” in A Spoonful Weighs a Ton (before the song descends into literal turmoil).The lyrics were so astonishingly simplistic, I couldn’t tell whether the songwriters were just high or perhaps … literary genius?It’s almost as if they’re implying that the singer just discovered he’d been bleeding from his head for quite some time I don’t know though I think I might be overanalyzing this…“When you got that spider bite on your handI thought we would have to break up the bandTo lose your arm would surely upset your brainThe poison then could reach your heart from a vein”Clear, to the point and nostalgic - no, really, it takes me back to first grade when we learned about RHYMES for the first time, I think I came up with a poem just like this actuallyWell, they fly in the air as you comb your hairAnd the summertime will make you itch the mosquito bitesGuys I think they’re onto something here! Bugs bite, oh they bite alright! I got a mosquito bite on my ankle yesterday, do you think they’re implying that this bite was in fact, from the mosquito that bit my ankle that was bitten by the mosquito who decided to bite my ankle that had a bite from the very same mosquito?Lastly, Feeling Yourself Disintegrate started off promising with some unsettling “brap-bap-bap-brrrap-bap-bap-bap-bap”s , then dissolved into another timeless drone devoid of any meaning. Like yes, bang bang, give us nothing!And is it just me or did the lead vocalist sound like Paul McCartney, but STRAINED? Like he was forced to run a 10K while singing exceptionally hollow lyrics. The background vocals combined with the sporadic bursts of percussion, jeez, I couldn’t help BUT nod my head.

After all, the band somehow has over 1. Wait, don't be offended, it’s honestly refreshing!It could also be that I’m laughably wrong and the album is too sophisticated for my measly uncultured in the genre of reverby rock (or wtvr this is) mind to process. Except for the first two, the tracks melted into an indiscernible mass of misplaced drums and ridiculously elementary, LITERALLY the tackiest lyrics I’ve seen in a long time. And become one with the dead mosquitos on my window net.With all that being said (I hope it was comprehensive enough), I think I might have weakly enjoyed this if I was unwillingly under the influence of some mysterious psychedelic plant, maybe the Flaming Lips have some to spare? Look I appreciate profundity in simplicity, but this was uh … pretty bad.

the flaming lips soft bulletin full album